What was the first fossil ever found?

In ancient times, Xenophanes (570–480 BC), Herodotus (484–425 BC), Eratosthenes (276–194 BC), and Strabo (64 BC-24 AD) wrote about fossils of marine organisms. The oldest known fossils are cyanobacteria from Archaean rocks of western Australia, dated 3.5 billion years old.