What religion was jimmy durante?

Jimmy Durante was an atheist. Though there is a tale told about his last days. Seems he was on his deathbed when his doctor walked in and caught him reading the bible. When the dr. asked him why the bible Jimmy responded, " I'm looking for loopholes ".