Who is william cole?

William Cole served as a member of the governor's Council (1675–1692) and as secretary of the colony (1690–1692). Cole served as an intermediary between Nathaniel Bacon and Governor Sir William Berkeley during the early months of Bacon's Rebellion (1676–1677), but ultimately sided with the latter.