How many presidents of the united states only served one term?

12 presidents served 1 term: John Adams 1797–01 John Q Adams 1825–29 Martin van Buren 1837–41 James Polk 1845–49 Franklin Pierce 1853–57 James Buchanan 1857–61 Rutherford Hayes 1877–81 Benjamin Harrison 1889–93 William Taft 1909–13 Herbert Hoover 1929–33 Jimmy Carter 1977–81 George H.W. Bush 1989–93