Who made paypal?

PayPal was founded in 1998 by entrepreneurs Peter Thiel and Max Levchin. In October 2002 PayPal was sold to eBay creating a digital auction payment service. In September of 2013, PayPal acquires Venmo and in July 2015 Paypal agrees to buy Xoom, a digital money transfer firm, both former competitors.