How hot can a light bulb get?

A 100-watt incandescent light bulb has a filament temperature of approximately 4,600 degrees Fahrenheit. The surface temperature of incandescent light bulbs varies from 150 to more than 250 degrees, whereas compact fluorescent light bulbs have a surface temperature of 100 degrees Fahrenheit.