Does the napkin go under the fork or the knife?

When setting a table, the napkin may be placed to the left of the dinner plate under the fork, or on the plate. Knives are placed to the right of the plate, not near the napkin.

---

The napkin goes on the left of the plate, under the fork. It is also acceptable to place the napkin on the plate. For formal meals, the napkin should be folded or placed in a napkin ring and set on the plate.