Why do they drink milk after the indianapolis five hundred?

he winner of the Indianapolis 500 drinks milk in Victory Lane. It's a tradition. In 1936, Louis Meyer drank some in Victory Lane because his mother said it would refresh him on a hot day, according to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.