What is the french defense in chess?

The French Defence is a chess opening characterised by the moves: 1. e4 e6 This is most commonly followed by 2.d4 d5, with Black intending ...c5 at a later stage, attacking White's centre and gaining space on the queenside.

---

moves 1.e4 e6