Why are refried beans called refried beans?

The phrase "refried beans" is an example of a word in another language that has been misunderstood in English. The actual name of the dish is frijoles refritos, which means something along the lines of "well-fried beans." But since "refritos" SOUNDS like "refried," English speakers call it that.