What is the declaration of independence day?

Independence Day, or 4th of July, is celebrated in the US to commemorate the Declaration of Independence & freedom from the British Empire. Although the Continental Congress voted in favor of independence from Great Britain July 2, it wasn’t until July 4 that revisions were completed. Reference.com