How do i stew tomatoes?

First, peel the tomatoes, place them in boiling water for 1 minute and then immediately transfer to cold water. Peel and quarter tomatoes, and place in a large saucepan with the salt. Slowly simmer over low heat for 20 to 30 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent burning.