How cold is it where the penguins live?

Overlapping densely packed feathers make a surface almost impenetrable to wind or water. Feathers provide waterproofing in water that is critical to penguins survival in water, Antarctic seas may be as cold as -2.2°C and rarely get above +2°C. Tufts of down on shafts below the feathers trap air