Is flint and steel real?

Yes. The sharp edge of a flint is used to violently strike a piece of steel at an acute angle in order to shave off small particles of metal. The pyrophoricity of the steel results in the shavings oxidizing in the air. The molten, oxidizing sparks ignite the tinder to produce fire.