How long does it take to ferment wine?

Fermentation of wine can take several months. Initial primary fermentation can occur quickly but secondary fermentation and clearing can take substantially longer. The wine is typically racked into a clean fermenter every month or so until no more sediments collect on the bottom at the fermenter.

---

Five to twenty one days to ferment sugar into alcohol. There are exception to this though. The longer, the better tasting the product you are fermenting and the method you use.