Why are walnuts called walnuts?

The New World encyclopedia states: The word “walnut” derives from Old English wealhhnutu, literally "foreign nut," with wealh meaning "foreign." The walnut was so called because it was introduced from Gaul and Italy. The previous Latin name for the walnut was nux Gallica, "Gallic nut."

---

The common name walnut derives from Old English wealhhnutu, literally 'foreign nut' (from wealh 'foreign' + hnutu 'nut'), because it was introduced from Gaul and Italy. The Latin name for the walnut was nux Gallica, "Gallic nut".