When was the vatican built?

What's now known as the Vatican took centuries to build. The structure known as St. Peter's Basilica was constructed in AD 329, and the nearby palace went up in the late 5th century. It became the Pope's residence in 1870, and in 1929 the Lateran Treaty created Vatican City as its own state.