What's the red star?

A red star is one with a surface temperature at the cooler end of the range, usually below 3000 Degrees Kelvin. One prominent red star in the night sky is Antares, a star often mistaken for the planet Mars, which has a similar red color. Red dwarf stars are the most numerous in the universe.

---

A red star, five-pointed and filled, is a symbol that has often historically been associated with communist ideology, particularly in combination with the hammer and sickle, but is also used as a purely socialist symbol in the 21st century.