What is a hitch in football?

A hitch is a route ran by a receiver, so he can catch the ball. Generally, the receiver runs five yards, stops, turns around, and moves back toward the quarterback on an angle. This allows the QB to throw him the ball quickly for a small gain with little threat of an interception.