What is a stigmatism of the eye?

Astigmatism is a common vision condition that causes blurred vision. It occurs when the cornea (the clear front cover of the eye) is irregularly shaped or sometimes because of the curvature of the lens inside the eye.

---

An astigmatism is a condition in which vision is distorted in a more complicated way than nearsightedness or farsightedness. It can usually be dealt with with prescription glasses.