What does the word mace mean?

Mace has several meanings. Mace is a stinging spray meant to aid in fending off an attacker. Mace is also a spice closely related to nutmeg. And mace is also a medieval weapon with a handle connected to a chain with a spiked ball of metal at the opposite end.