What is a division sentence example?

20 ÷ 5 = 4 is an example of a division sentence. It contains three numbers, a division sign and an equals sign. 20 ÷ 5 = 4 means that 20 shared into 5 equal groups would give us 4 in each group. We can teach division sentences using arrays of counters.