What is a computer algorithm?

A computer algorithm, is a written computer program, that usually contains a set of mathematical formulas, or logical commands, to solve a problem or execute a set of instructions. For example, "if X is bigger than 5, then print Z", is a computer algorithm. Algorithms can be many lines long.