What's the difference between a missile and a rocket?

In a military context, a rocket is an unguided, rocket-powered weapon, with no steering ability whereas A missile is a self-propelled weapon, often rocket-powered (but not always), that has some kind of guidance system so that it can steer in flight, towards its target.