How does a elephant make noise?

Elephants trumpet when they are highly stimulated. While most vocalizations are made with the larynx, a trumpet is produced by pushing air through the trunk. Trumpeting elephants may be excited, lost, angry, playful, or surprised. Listen to the differences in these four trumpets.