How many foreign languages are there in the world?

Linguists estimate there are between 6500 and 7000 distinct languages still spoken in the world today. Many still-undocumented languages are spoken only by a dwindling number of older speakers and are not being learned by children, so the number of languages in the world is diminishing all the time.