Give me more definition for descent?

The common meaning for 'descent' is 'going from a higher place to a lower one' - "the airplane made a descent from 5 miles to 1 mile." As a noun it can mean 'a path or road that goes downward', "the descent was rough and rocky." It is sometimes used to mean lower in status - 'descent into poverty.'