Do you capitalize the n. in north?

If north is a proper name of a person or a place or a thing, such as; "General Oliver North", "North Dakota", or the formal region "The Northeast" then it is proper to capitalize the "N" in North, but generally No, the casual cardinal direction, such as; "go north", is not capitalized.