How many miles per hour can a jet go?

Contemporary civilian jets usually cruise at Mach .8 even transoceanic jets. Boeing over 747 and MD 11's with it's fan jet design have been known to get near Mach 1 though usually in US cruise in 450mph range plus. Military turbojet design jets can reach Mach 1.6 +. 1.6 times speed of sound.