What's a root canal?

In a root canal, the diseased pulpal tissue (nerves and blood supply) is removed from the crown and root canals of the tooth with small instruments and an irrigating solution, cleaning and shaping is done, and then an inert material like gutta percha and a sealer is placed within the tooth