How many hours of sun do we have?

The hours of daylight depend on where you are on the earth and the time of year. In the northern hemisphere at the 45th parallel, halfway between the equator and the north pole, the shortest winter day is 8 hours and 46 minutes of sunlight. The longest summer day is 15 hours and 22 minutes.