Where did the term tooth and nail come from?

This saying dates back to the 1500s and comes from the idea of fighting like a wild beast. Animals don't have weapons, so they fight with everything that they've got: their teeth and nails. Charles Dickens popularized the phrase in 1850 using it in his book, David Copperfield.