Does a. d. mean after death?

“A.D.” does not mean “after death,” as many people suppose. “B.C.” stands for the English phrase “before Christ,” but “A.D.” stands confusingly for a Latin phrase: anno domini “in the year of the Lord”—the year Jesus was born