What was the first cartoon ever made?

Fantasmagorie, a French film by Emile Cohl in 1908, was the first animated film made with traditional animation methods. However, a 5,200 year old pottery bowl discovered in Iran has five sequential images painted around it that seem to show a goat leaping up to nibble at a tree.