Why do mermaids swim in the water?

Mermaids have a swimming motion similar to a dolphin. Mermaids and dolphins both have a large single fin at the end of their tail that is used to propel them through the water. Mermaids move their large tail fin up and down in the water with a full-body wave motion to create momentum and speed