When was the first nerf gun ever made?

According to Nerf, in 1989 the Power Drencher was the first water type gun, which was original name for Super Soaker. Also there was Nerf Blast-a-Ball, a single-fire air launched toy, which was packaged with two blasters to encourage playing with others, which was eventually discontinued.