Is male pattern baldness hereditary?

Other factors contribute to baldness. The primary baldness gene is on the X chromosome, which men get only from their mothers. Men with a bald father are more likely to develop male pattern baldness. So, if your father had it, and your mothers brothers had it . . you are likely too also. Sorry.