What does salisbury in salisbury steak refer to?

Salisbury steak, a dish made from a blend of ground beef and served with gravy or brown sauce, gets its name from its creator, J.H. Salisbury, an American physician. Salisbury, who practiced medicine during the mid-1800s, was one of the earliest proponents of healthy eating.

---

It was named after James Salisbury, an American physician and chemist (1823-1905) who advocated a diet high in meat.