How do you self boil an egg?

In order to soft boil an egg, boil water in a saucepan large enough to hold the eggs in a single layer. add eggs to the boiling water. Cook for 6½ minutes, adjusting the heat to maintain a gentle boil. Then transfer eggs to a bowl of ice water for about 2 minutes, until just slightly warm.