What is a mahjong suit?

Suits are the numbered tiles in a mahjong set. Unlike a deck of cards, mahjong only has three suits: bamboos, characters, and dots and are numbered 1 through 9. ... Suit tiles have the most flexibility since they can be chowed, punged, konged, or paired.