What part of the cow is skirt steak?

Skirt steak is a thin, long cut of beef from the diaphragm muscles of the cow. It is also lean and contains great flavor.

---

Skirt steak comes from either of two separate muscles inside the chest and abdominal cavity, below the ribs, in the section of the cow known as the beef plate primal cut. The two muscles are the diaphragm muscle, called the outside skirt, and the transversus abdominis muscle, or inside skirt.