What is three a.m. called the devil's hour?

The witching hour or devil's hour is a time associated with supernatural events. In the Western Christian tradition, the hour between 3 and 4 a.m. was considered a period of peak supernatural activity, due to the absence of prayers in the canonical hours during this period.