What are the city states of greece?

Though there were more than 1,000 city-states in ancient Greece, the main ones were Athens, Sparta, Corinth, Thebes, Syracuse, Aegina, Rhodes, Árgos, Erétria, and Elis. Each city-state ruled itself and they differed greatly in governance and culture.