Why are there so many countries called guinea?

Guinea was used to refer to the lands of the Guineus, the African people who originated south of the Senegal River. European colonists in the Guinea region of West Africa used names such as "German Guinea", "Spanish Guinea", etc. Some countries kept portions of these names after independence.