What is rennet in cheese?

Rennet is an enzyme found in the fourth stomach of young ruminants (cows, sheep, and goats, among others) that allows these young animals to digest mother's milk. This enzyme curdles the milk, separating curds from whey and thus completing the first step in the process of making cheese.