Why do bruises turn black and blue?

A physical blow to human tissue, may be hard enough to rupture small blood vessels, causing them to break open, and leak blood into the tissue. That blood is no longer receiving oxygen, and turns blue. Eventually, your body will clear up the leaked blood and fluids, and the bruise will fade away.