What's the difference between true north and magnetic north?

True north is the location of the north pole as determined by the axis of the planet's rotation. Magnetic north is the direction that a magnetic compass will point, based on the planet's magnetic field.

---

True north is a fixed point on the globe. Magnetic north is the direction that a compass needle points to as it aligns with the Earth's magnetic field.