Who is groot?

Groot is a fictional character appearing in American comic books published by Marvel Comics. Created by Stan Lee, Larry Lieber and Jack Kirby, the character first appeared in Tales to Astonish #13. He is a hyper-intelligent, tree-like organism from the species Flora colossus native to the planet X.