Who gave the spice girls there nickname?

Mel B (Scary Spice) said in a 2013 interview: “It was actually a teeny magazine called Top of the Pops who gave us our names. We were already established as the Spice Girls, but they wrote a story about us and within it they called us each something different. The names stuck, so we went with it!”