What's the difference between eulogy and elegy?

An elegy is a poem that reflects upon a subject with sorrow or melancholy. Often these poems are about someone who has died or other sorrowful subjects. A eulogy on the other hand is meant to offer praise. As part of a funeral service, a "eulogy" celebrates the deceased.